Tuesday, December 28, 2010

Review: Make Mine Midnight - Annmarie McKenna

Description from Goodreads:

New Year-s resolutions have never looked so good.


New Year-s Eve. The party is rockin-, and Claire is in her usual spot holding up the wall. It-s all right. She-s much happier scribbling in her trusty little notebook than mingling. Especially since those notes turn into the sexy erotic romances she pens in secret. Those two gorgeous gods across the room are perfect hero material and-oh dear, are they headed her way?

Mason and Hunter know she won-t remember them as the scrawny geeks they were in high school. She also doesn't know they've been lusting after her for ten long years, waiting for her to meet a man and have a normal relationship. They-re through waiting. The time has come to make their move-and show her exactly how much they've changed.

One night in the middle of a Mason/Hunter manwich, and Claire has enough research material to fill a hundred notebooks. Good thing she-s got OfficeMax on speed dial to order more. Except suddenly her two hunks have this crazy idea that keeping her is selfish. Selfish? She may be mousy, but this mouse is about to roar-

Warning: Threesomes! Light bondage, blindfolds, breakfast made by two hot men who used to be geeks. Parades, cotton candy, more sex, and convincing said men they are WRONG and threesomes are RIGHT.

My Review:

Claire is an erotic writer and she's never experienced what she writes about.  Until now.

She's at a New Year's Eve party - not talking or dancing like other guests, but writing her New Year's resolutions.  Her number 5 resolution: "Sleep with first non-squicky, non-stalkerish, non-ew-type man to offer."

  At the party, she sees 2 hunky men who would make perfect heroes in her books, but little does she know is that these two men have been waiting ten years since school for their chance  to be with Claire and show her how much they have changed. 
  Mason and Hunter used to be total geeks, but not anymore.  They've bulked up and become the men that most women fantasize about.  Now is their chance to approach Claire and take her home and show her just what she's been missing out on all these years.
  They leave the party and head back to her apartment where they can all prepare to have the night of their lives.  What Claire doesn't know is that Mason and Hunter don't just want Claire for one night, but to be with her always - if she's willing.

This is a short story full of explicit sex, hot men, and fantasies being fulfilled.  It contains threesomes, which is something I've never read about before.  I found the flow of the story smooth and the characters were so hot they were making me melt.  I really enjoyed this and I think Annmarie should write a sequel to this so we can know what happens later.  If you act quickly, this is a freebie for the Kindle on Amazon.  Check it out- you have nothing to lose.

4 Stars

Review: Deadly Little Secret (Touch #1) by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Description from Goodreads:

Some secrets shouldn't be kept...


Up until three months ago, everything in sixteen-year-old Camelia's life had been fairly ordinary: decent grades; an okay relationship with her parents; and a pretty cool part-time job at the art studio downtown. But when Ben, the mysterious new guy, starts junior year at her high school, Camelia's life becomes anything but ordinary.



Rumored to be somehow responsible for his ex-girlfriend's accidental death, Ben is immediately ostracized by everyone on campus. Except for Camelia. She's reluctant to believe the rumors, even when her friends try to convince her otherwise. She's inexplicably drawn to Ben...and to his touch. But soon, Camelia is receiving eerie phone calls and strange packages with threatening notes. Ben insists she is in danger, and that he can help--but can he be trusted? She knows he's hiding something... but he's not the only one with a secret.



From the best-selling author of Blue is for Nightmares comes a story of paranormal romance that's sure to be a thrilling and chilling teen favorite.



My Review:
 
Just after reading the first chapter, I knew this was gonna be a great story!
 
Camelia was in the school parking lot on the last day of school, when she has to squat down to search for an earring that slipped off.  Next thing she knows, there's a car heading straight for her and she is frozen like a deer in headlights.  All of a sudden she is pushed out to the curb and out of the way by a mysterious guy.  Camelia thinks this mysterious guy is incredibly handsome too.  He makes sure she's ok, touches her stomach, and then hops on his motorcycle and drives away.
  So who is this mystery guy you ask- Well Camelia is about to find out.  When school resumes three months later, she finds out about the new student- Ben Carter.  Ben is not welcomed with open arms like most new students- quite the opposite really.  There are already rumors going around that he is a killer and pushed his girlfriend of a cliff to her death, but Camelia won't believe the stories about him since she knows firsthand that he's a hero and saved her life personally.
  When she approaches Ben, he denies being the guy who saved her, but she knows she's not mistaken because she notices the same scar on his arm is the same one she saw when he saved her.
  When she gets home from school, she gets a photo of herself with a heart around it and realizes when she keeps getting mysterious gifts, photos and messages that someone is stalking her.  When they start, its as if she has a secret admirer but as they progress and come more often, she knows someone is out to hurt her.  Ben tells her that she's in danger but is she in danger from him or is someone else out to get her?  Is Ben the killer that everyone says he is?
 
  I've read this book twice now because its just that good!  Its full of mystery, humor, and romance that will make your toes curl. 
 
Camelia is my favorite character.  If I were her, I would have told my parents right away what was going on.  In my opinion, she was right to trust Ben when they first met cause she knew he was a real hero for saving her life.  Camelia is a brave character too.  She sticks with what she believes in and rides off with Ben in the middle of the night instead of believing the rumors.  Camelia also does pottery, which brings me to my favorite scene out of any books that I've ever read.  If you've seen the movie "Ghost" with Demi Moore and Patrick Swayze, then you  know about the love scene they do with the clay and the pottery wheel spinning.  Well, that is what happens in one of the scenes of this book between Camelia and a boy. I Absolutely loved that scene and being able to picture it while I was reading it.  It makes me want to learn pottery just so I can experience what Camelia does.
  I recommend this book to everyone.  Seriously, I do!  The characters are entertaining.  The settings are fun, romantic, and mysterious.  The plot flows easily from beginning to end and I wasn't bored for any of it.  Read this book cause I know you'll love it too!!!
 
5 Stars

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Dead Beautiful - Yvonne Woon

Description from Goodreads:

A haunting love story about desire, danger, and destiny. After Renee Winters discovers her parents lying dead in California's Redwood Forest in what appears to be a strange double murder, her grandfather sends her off to Gottfried Academy in Maine, a remote and mysterious high school dedicated to philosophy, "crude sciences," and Latin: the Language of the Dead. It's here she meets Dante, a dark and elusive student to whom she feels inexplicably drawn. As they get to know each other better, Dante can't seem to control his attraction either, and their desires gradually deepen into a complex and dangerous romance. Dangerous because Dante is hiding a frightening secret. A secret so terrible, it has him fearing for Renee's life. Dante's not the only one with secrets, though. Turns out Gottfried Academy has a few of its own… Like, how come students keep disappearing? Why are the prefect-like Monitors creeping around campus during the night? And what exactly are the Headmistress and Professors really up to? Renee is determined to find out why. Dead Beautiful is both a compelling romance and thought-provoking read, bringing shocking new meaning to life, death, love, and the nature of the soul.

My Review:

  Renee Winters finds her parents in the woods dead.  The cause of death for both of her parents was identified as heart attacks.  Renee doesn't believe it cause they have gauze in their mouths and coins were scattered around the bodies.  Renee's new guardian- her grandfather- decides to send her to Maine to attend Gottfried Academy.  Gottfried Academy is like no other school and she will soon find out why when she starts digging into its history and the truth behind her parents' deaths. 
  Renee makes friends with Eleanor her roommate, right away and she is able to show Renee the routine and rules of Gottfried Academy.  She meets Dante Berlin there also and is immediately drawn to him.  She will learn why there seems to be a magnetic bond between them later.  He and Renee grow closer when they are paired together in class.  He also tutors her in Latin which is known as "Language of the Dead".  He's always cold and he won't kiss her on the mouth but he'll kiss her on the neck.  What can Dante be hiding and will Renee be able to dig into the school's past in time to save herself and her friends?
  Let's start off with the cover- I don't love the cover, but I like it.  It makes the story look a bit fairy taleish (is that even a word?)  and from an earlier period in time.  This was no fairy tale and it took place in the modern time period so I was thrown off a bit.  The cover is catching but just a little deceiving in my opinion.  The colors are a bit dark and she is wearing all black so I pretty much assumed that someone was gonna die eventually or it was gonna have to do with death without even reading the description.  Overall, it is an ok cover for the book.
  To be honest- I was a bit bored at the beginning, but after Dante entered the book, I was able to stay focused on the story and it was able to keep my attention.  I was a bit confused on why the students had to take Horticulture.  I just don't understand what plants and soil have to do with the story. I must have missed that somewhere in the book, but I do know it is popular among the Board of Monitors of the school.  Plants just don't interest me enough to really pay attention to all the details Yvonne gave.
  The school was very strict and I would not want to live by their rules.  They had a dress code obviously but the other rules are a bit too much.  There is to be no artificial light of any kind after dark.  They are to use candles only ( Well it sure would save on the electricity bill) but suck when it comes to reading and homework- talk about straining your eyes- the kids are gonna need glasses and that is more expensive than an electric bill.  They are not allowed to be in the opposite sex's dorms or date anyone from the school.  I think it would be impossible to ban people from liking each other if you sit with them everyday in class and grow close.  Feelings are eventually gonna develop among some of the students so they should just let it happen and keep an eye on them.  Oh well, that is just my opinion.
  I enjoyed being able to snoop and spy right along with Renee on her quest for answers.  Upon discovering their secrets, I was better able to understand the characters and their previous behavior which would clear up a lot of questions I had going on in my head.  In the end, everything starts piecing together and you won't believe the ending (If that's what you want to call it).  It's a cliffhanger ending that is gonna have you craving the next book, that is if there is one.  Please Yvonne, write a sequel so your readers don't go crazy wondering what happens next!!  

4 1/2 Stars

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

His Eyes - Renee Carter

Description From Goodreads:

Amy Turner's about to graduate from high school and all she wants is a job. Actually, all she wants is to find a way to pay for college. Amy certainly isn't looking for love when she answers an ad to baby-sit a boy-she just needs the cash. But the job has a catch: The boy is blind...and he's her age.


Tristan Edmund may be hot, but he doesn't want Amy's help. Or so he thinks. After being blinded in a horse show-jumping competition, Tristan spends his days in the dark, refusing to accept his disability. Much to his annoyance, Amy bursts into his life and drags him into the light. But just as the two begin to see something in each other, Tristan's beautiful ex-girlfriend shows up. Will the temptation be too much, or will Tristan choose the girl who really sees him?

My Review:

Amy Turner has gotten accepted into 2 schools.  Illinois University and Evanston.  She wants to be in journalism and Evanston would get her to her dream a lot quicker than the state college but the problem is that it will be very expensive without a scholarship.
  Amy decides to respond to an ad in the paper for a babysitter but the ad she responded to forgot to mention he was blind and that he was her age.  Since she is offered $20 per hour she decides to take it.  All she is gonna have to do is spend time with Tristan, get him out of the house, and try to get him to live a little instead of being hauled up in in room all day feeling sorry for himself.  She soon learns that it may be harder than she thought cause Tristan doesn't want her help or a "babysitter".
  Amy decides to take him to the stables where his horse currently resides and they are able to talk a bit before they leave and get to know each other.  They are both getting ready to graduate and she takes him to his rehearsal and his ceremony and they are able to start opening up to each other more and more as the time goes on.  Amy starts falling for Tristan and they kiss each other when he shows up unexpectedly to her graduation.  This is a perfect night for Amy but when she wakes up in the morning, her job takes a turn and Tristan's mom says she has to pick up Tristan's girlfriend (Who Amy calls "The Creature") from the airport.  Wait...What did she say?  Girlfriend???  Umm ok. This is where the story gets good.  Amy decides to continue working so she can earn her money that she needs for college but she also has to put up with all of "The Creature's" baggage - literally. Amy is not gonna let him go that easy and she is hoping that Tristan will see that she has been the one there for him and not "The Creature". 

I fell in love with this story!  Beautifully written and it really pulls you in and you get attached to the characters.  I found this to be a quick read since it only took me a few hours to finish.  I was able to devour this in one sitting, not wanting to put it down for a minute.  It was a surprise to me that I loved it as much as I did seeming how there are no vamps or wolves in it.  His Eyes was believable and left me genuinely happy after I finished the last page.  It was a pleasure reading about Amy and Tristan and I really started to feel for each of them and their current situations.  Renee Carter created emotions in the characters but not so many that they were overwhelming to the story.  I would love to read another of Renee's books cause I was hooked once I started and any author that does that to me, makes me want to continue to read their work.  If you get a chance to read this, do it cause it is awesome!!!


5 Stars

Monday, November 22, 2010

A Wicked Wolf - Brenda Williamson


Description from Goodreads:

Real Estate agent Randi Brown works the rich crowd, selling high-priced homes. With her parents dead it’s up to her to financially support two teenage siblings and she wants to spread her wings by negotiating a billion dollar land deal. Only the landowner, a business mogul no one has seen in years isn’t interested in selling his mountain to a development corporation, and Randi sets out to change his mind any way possible, even if that means sleeping with the reclusive billionaire.

After two years, since his wife’s brutal murder, Nicholas "Nick" Wolfe prefers to mourn her than get involved in business. So he lives cut off from society on Wolfe Mountain. Through his attorney, he’s offered billions, but no one knows to what extent the value of the land is more than the inhabitants—the Lycans, human wolf-like animal shifters.
When Randi shows up on the mountain one rainy night, Nick tires to fight the desires of the wolf in him to take a mate. Unfortunately, nature has made it impossible to resist the animalistic urges strengthened by the influence of a full moon and the power of lust in this woman’s eyes. Can love know no bounds?
Randi has no idea of where this torrid affair can lead until she learns the gruesome details of a woman’s murder by a creature not quite human. Then she becomes the next target and she discovers how falling in love can lead to a fatal attack from a Lycan.

My Review:
I can't explain how this book made me feel.  The moment I started reading, I didn't want to stop.  Automatically I was pulled into Randi's world of being a lonely real estate agent who works on a huge land deal to try to support her siblings.  If she gets this deal, things will start to look up for her and she can even get enough money to start up her own company.  When it comes to getting Nick Wolfe to sign away his land, Randi is gonna learn that it is impossible.  This story is full of hot and steamy sex, and J.R. aka Nick sounds like he is an amazing man that any girl would be proud of.  He tries to deny his wolf side and not mate with Randi on the full moon, but she is in heat and he can't resist anymore.  He blindfolds her and they have a bunch of kinky sex from there on through the book and in different ways and places that leaves the reader burning hot along with them.  Amazing how Brenda Williamson was able to capture both side of what each character was feeling and going through and let her readers be able to experience it right along with them.  I would gladly read another of her stories for this is one of the best that I've read in a long time!!

4 1/2 Stars

Monday, November 15, 2010

Love Sucks! - Melissa Francis

Description from Goodreads:

AJ Ashe is moving on. Sure she still has not-so-sisterly feelings for Ryan, her ex-boyfriend-turned-step-brother, but there’s a new vampire in town and his name is Alexander Archer. Caught between the desire to move forward with Sexy Lexy and being drawn to her past with Ryan, AJ thinks life couldn’t get anymore complicated. Yeah, right. When her mother’s pregnancy is threatened, it looks like AJ’s long lost father is the only person who can save her. But Dad’s help comes with a price. AJ is forced join the evil side of her family, and a very creepy shape-shifting demon is there to make sure AJ cooperates. All this and she’s still got to plan the prom. Being a teenager is tough, but being a teenage vampire just flat out sucks. Pun totally intended.

My Review:

   Now that AJ's mom is pregnant, she and the rest of the family have to do everything they can to protect the baby.  Ryan is adjusting to AJ being vampire and AJ is adjusting to Ryan's family being warlocks.  And who knew that their parents' baby would be fulfilling an ancient vampire prophecy?
   Demons are after AJ and they want her help to find the magic runes.  She's a key holder, so without her, they can't find them.  AJ begins training to fight and block out her thoughts from her enemies.  She gets a really hot bodyguard/trainer named Lex and they eventually make out later in the story making Ryan jealous.  But Ryan and AJ and the bodyguards Lex and Robbie all have to work together to keep the unborn baby safe and find the magic runes themselves before they land in the wrong hands.

  This cover is so much better don't you think?  More colors and not so boring to this time. The colors add more life to the cover and with the girl turned facing the camera, its alot more appealing to the eye.  But that's just my opinion.
   This series keeps getting better.  Love Sucks! contains just as much romance, jealousy, and drama as Bite Me!.  The characters become more developed and there are alot of of answers revealed as to what went on in the first book.  I loved the ending!!  I can't wait till the third book comes out cause I am hooked on this series and I'm dying to know what happens between AJ and Ryan.  I just can't get enough of those two:)

4 1/2 Stars

Bite Me! - Melissa Francis

Description from Goodreads:

AJ Ashe isn't your typical seventeen-year-old vampire—as if there is such a thing! She's stuck in the middle of a huge fight between her two BFFs. Her ex-boyfriend—whom she's still totally in love with, by the way—is now her stepbrother. A former classmate—who, um, she may or may not have turned into a vampire—is stalking her. And now, apparently, the fate of humankind lies in her little undead hands. What ever happened to the good old days, when all a vampire girl had to worry about was the occasional zit and hiding her taste for blood?

My Review:

   AJ Ashe is a teen vampire who's in love with her ex boyfriend- now new step brother.  AJ and Ryan are forbidden from being together since their parents are getting married.  Ryan's family doesn't know AJ and her family are vampires so she has to keep it secret from him and everyone else.  Not even her best friends are allowed to know.
   When Ryan shows up with Lindsey at a party, AJ decides to hang out with Noah James- a recently available hottie who she's had a crush on for awhile.  He leads her to a small clearing in the woods.  After making out a bit, AJ decides she wants to stop, but Noah doesn't want to.  AJ's fangs slide down and slice into Noah's tongue.  The next day she finds out that he's dead and she soon finds out that he's a vampire.  AJ then starts to wonder if she is the one who turned him or if it was someone else.
   AJ soon is given an assignment in World History and she decides to do research on her family history.  She enlists in the help of Mr. Charles and is soon learning way more than she bargained for about herself.  To top that off, someone keeps sabotaging AJ to get her into trouble.  She now not only has to deal with newly turned vampire Noah, who keeps threatening her and her family, but she's got to see who is out to get her and stop them before it's too late.

   Let me start on the cover.  I wasn't that drawn to the cover when I first read this.  I find the cover kind of bland. A girl with Bite Me written on her neck...hmmm think it could have used a little something extra.  Nothing really stands out for me so I'm glad I didn't judge the book by its cover because I would have missed out on a great series.
   I've actually read Bite Me twice. Once back in October 2009 and just recently to remind myself what happened before I read the recently released sequel.  Its full of romance, suspense, and family drama.  Its gets better every time I read it.  I love the forbidden romance between  AJ and Ryan.  They try so hard to fight it now that they are step siblings but with the little things they do for each other, you know they are still in love with each other and its so hard to fight it.  I just keep routing for them to find a way to be together.  I never saw the ending coming.  It took me completely by surprise and I can't wait to read the sequel- Love Sucks.  I know its gonna be great too!!

5 Stars

Crave - Melinda Metz and Laura J. Burns

Title: Crave
Author: Laura J. Burns & Melinda Metz
Release Date: September 21st 2010
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children's Publishing
Source: Bought


Description from Goodreads:


Shay has had a rare blood disorder since she was born. In fact, her mother married one of Shay’s doctors, Martin, who left his world-renowned leukemia research to try and figure out exactly what the disorder is and how to cure it. When she turns seventeen, Martin begins to give her new blood transfusions that make her feel the strongest she has ever felt. But she also has odd visions where she sees through the eyes of a vampire. At first, she thinks she must be imagining the visions, but when she begins to see Martin’s office in them, she knows she has to check it out. That’s when she finds Gabriel, a sexy, teen-aged vampire, imprisoned in Martin’s office. The connection she has built with Gabriel compels her to set him free. But when he kidnaps her in an attempt at revenge on Martin, their lives become deeply intertwined. She doesn’t know the half of it.


My Review:


   Shay McGuire was born with a rare blood disorder.  She grew up needing blood transfusions her whole life. Sometimes every three weeks and sometimes more.  Shay was getting worse so her stepfather, Martin, devoted all his time to finding a cure for her and to advance his career in the process.
   Martin comes up with a new blood transfusion for Shay to try to see if it will help her.  Once Shay starts the new transfusion, she experiences something she's never felt before.  She is transported to the mind of Gabriel, a vampire.  She feels and tastes what he does but most of all she is able to live through him and do things that she never could before.  When she awakes after the transfusions, she is more alive and energetic than she's been her entire life.  She starts to crave the new blood transfusions and the visions of Gabriel.  The more she gets to see of his life, the more she starts to have feelings for him. 
   After a vision shows her that Gabriel is really being kept in Martin's office, Shay decides to set him free.  She realizes that he has been kept prisoner for his blood and so when she tries to free him and Martin comes to the office, the tables get turned and Gabriel takes her prisoner to get back at her parents for trapping him and stealing his blood.  This is when the story gets extra good but I don't want to ruin it so go get a copy of Crave.  


   First of all, let me start on the cover.  I love to look at covers when I read and this one was just eye catching.  Gabriel on the cover is just sexy!  Look at how gorgeous he is!!!  That alone should make you want to read this just looking at his eyes and his tattoo.  The red in the background of the cover makes it all stand out.  Wow- Great Cover!! 
   I was hooked on this book.  I really enjoyed the characters.  Shay starts these new transfusions and she is finally able to start living.  She goes to a party, flirts with boys (not to mention gets her first kiss), drinks, and swims which are things she could never do before.  We get to see her really open up and be normal instead of just being the weak and sick girl.  Gabriel on the other hand is a vampire.  We are able to live some of his memories through Shay's transfusions including the night he's taken and his last day as a human.. What I love most about Gabriel is that he's willing to give a human a chance.  His family is quite the opposite and it just might cost Gabriel in the end.
   I can't believe the ending!!!  Come on- Did it really have to have a cliffhanger like that?  I can't wait to read the sequel to see what happens.  I love the growing romance between Shay and Gabriel and the sacrifices they go through to keep each other safe.  
   This story was well written and was able to keep me interested from page one.  I literally didn't put it down, and finished it in one sitting.  I was so hooked that I had to know what was going to happen. If you haven't read this, I suggest you pick up a copy.  It's a great read. 


4 1/2 Stars

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

The Mermaid's Mirror - L. K. Madigan


I really liked "The Mermaid's Mirror". Its something different from what I've been reading lately and so I found it as a breath of fresh air. The story was very creative and I sure hope there is a sequel because I would love to read it.





Lena has been watching all her friends surf but she was never able to. Her dad had an accident early back and almost died, so he isn't even willing to step in the water much less teach her how to surf.



For Lena's 16th birthday, her boyfriend's, Kai, sister offers to give her surfing lessons. So she can't stand not surfing any longer and eventually accepts. Lena has this pull torward the water. She walks along the beach just about everyday and on her 16th birthday, she swears that she sees a mermaid. A beautiful mermaid. She is determined, against her father's wishes, to learn to surf so she can explore the waves ans search for the mermaid. Once she learns, she takes her board out to Magic Crescent Cove when even the experienced surfers won't surf that day. She's out in the ocean surfing and then she is caught in the rip tide. While she is in the riptide, the mermaid puts a key into her hand. Now she knows that she's not crazy and there really is a mermaid out there. The key has to fit in something so she starts searching every key hole she can find. When she's snooping through her parents room, she finds a death certificate from her birth mother's suicide. Then she is about to give up before she gets caught, when she sees a chair in a spot where it wouldn't be of any use. She moves it and pulls up the carpet and finds a sea chest. Bingo! The key fit. When she opens the chest, she finds photos and other items along with a mirror. Lena looks into the mirror and is shown the sea and mer-people. From then on, Lena's life will never be the same. Her dad comes home and confesses the truth about her mother. Now that Lena knows, what will she do? Will she stay on land with her family or will she stop resisting the call of the sea?



This was a quick and fast paced read. It was non stop entertainment for me. The story was full of mystery, friendship, trust and love. When it ended, I was heartbroken. I personally wouldn't be able to make the decision that she does. How do you choose between family? Lena learns to trust her own heart in the end, even if it hurts herself and those she loves. If you're tired from the recent vampire craze and want something a little different, read this. It was a super cute story!

4 STARS



Monday, August 23, 2010

Shades of Twilight - Martin Sharlow

   After reading the first chapters of "Shades of Twilight", this book had my attention.  Melissa jumps down into the water and almost drowns.  Michael saves her and takes her to the hospital to be checked out.  Later Melissa and Mike start hanging out.  They go to eat but he has already eaten, so she's the only one munching down on a Whopper.  Melissa starts becoming paranoid at nights after leaving work thinking someone or something is watching her, so she constantly is calling Mike to come watch over her or take her places.  When something does attack her, Mike and Melissa start trying to find out how to kill it.  They enlist in the help of Mike's uncle and Melissa's friend, Debbie.  Will anyone be able to stop what's coming after them before someone gets hurt?
  
   I really did like this book.  Mike was such a courageous character trying to save Melissa all the time.  He was always there to protect her.  If she called him, he would arrive shortly after and would make it just in time to save her.  Melissa, on the other hand, was a bit of a crybaby to me.  She was always crying to Mike.  No matter what was happening, she seemed to sob over it.  She was also a stubborn character.  Anytime she was told to stay in the car or duplex- did she listen? (Nope- always did the complete opposite of what she was told to do and then made the situation worse)  Duh!  Just do what you're told for once and things may not get so bad!!
  
   I would love to have Mike's car!  Want to know what it was?  A replica of the "Smokey and the Bandit" car.  How awesome would that be?  The only difference was that Mike's was a t-top and Burt Reynold's wasn't.  But I love the idea of that car driving down the street with a HOT vampire behind the wheel:)

   My only dislike about the story is the romance.  I think it was lacking in the romance department.  Hugs and embraces came in plenty, but kisses- not so much.

   Overall, the story was creative and was able to keep me interested.  I do recommend this story for those who enjoy vampires with mystery.  Head on over to Amazon and get yourself a copy:)

4 STARS


Saturday, August 21, 2010

Bitter Frost - Kailin Gow


   Breena has always dreamed of a magical land with faeries and other magical  creatures.  And in this dream, she and Kian, the Winter Prince, perform a special wedding dance and then chaos  interrupts her dream.  When Breena turns 16, her dream starts to become reality.  She starts seeing magical beings like a goblin, satyrs, and a pixie and just chalks it up to her imagination going wild.  When a missing boy is found with multiple bites and out of his mind, Bree starts to realize that it may not be her imagination after all.
Breena goes home and on the way, she sees a pixie and she's so frightened because pixies bite humans and cause memory loss.  Logan, her best friend, who is all of a sudden very protective of her, comes over.  While they are in the house, the pixie named Delano comes to the door.  Logan fights Delano and Kian appears and leads Breena to her art studio.  But after the door to the studio closes, she is transported with Kian to Feyland.

   What drew me first to "Bitter Frost" was the cover.  I absolutely love the cover of this book with the blue glitter on the girl's lips and on the title.  It just is really catching to me.  Unfortunately the cover was better than the book was.
   During the beginning when Logan comes over on her birthday to make her dinner, they have a whip cream fight.  I loved this scene because it was so fun.
   I loved the character Logan.  He does everything to make Bree happy.  He will do anything for her- fight pixies, Kian and her classmates that are snobby with her. (Who wouldn't want him when he would do that plus he's incredibly attractive, sweet and caring.)
   I really enjoyed reading Kailin's descriptions of Feyland:
"The leaves sparkled, each one giving off a glow like so many tiny fireflies.  The grass murmured beneath me, rolling like waves over the earth."
   I really enjoyed this story overall except for the ending.  Reason being-  It wasn't an ending, just a cliffhanger to read the sequel.  That is why I rated it lower.  When I finished this book, I wasn't feeling fulfilled with having read a full story.


3 1/2 STARS



Wisdom - Amanda Hocking

   "Wisdom" starts off with Alice, Milo, and Bobby visiting Mae, Peter, and newly turned vampire child, Daisy. The trip is cut short when Alice learns of a recent murder of someone close to her. She is determined to find the killer and whether he/she is a human or a vampire. Alice is still torn between Jack and Peter but in a different way than before. She's in love with Jack, but with Peter, it's no longer a blood bond between them and she really enjoys being with him when she learns how caring and thoughtful he is.
   Now that Alice is a vampire, she starts thinking about what she wants to do with her life. Ezra gives her literature and textbooks to read and study to see if she can find anything that interests her. Alice also starts taking lessons to learn how to fight, that way she can destroy the killer.
    I cried while reading "Wisdom". It was full of twists and turns. Alice has an eternity ahead of her so she starts wondering if she made the right decision. She has to put trust in her new vampire family and also some other past characters that came back into her life. The end blew me away. It left plenty of opening for a 5th book. Out of all the possible career choices she was contemplating, she chooses that?!! (If you want to know what "that" is, you'll have to run over to Amazon and pick up a copy of "Wisdom") This is my new favorite series and I read them back to back cause I couldn't get enough. Thank you Amanda for such a wonderful series!! I can't wait for the next installment, so I hope it comes out soon:)

5 STARS




Flutter - Amanda Hocking

Newly turned vampire Alice, takes off with Ezra, Jack and Peter's brother, to go rescue Peter from what is believed as a suicide mission.  Ezra believes that Alice will be the only one able to talk him into coming back home.  Alice felt this was her fault that he was over there to begin with.  While in Finland looking for Peter, Ezra and Alice run into a pack of lycan (vampires who live more like animals) and among them is a man named Leif who tells them where Peter is and how to get to him.  When they all return home, Alice meets Milo's boyfriend, Bobby, learns of Jane's vampire bite addiction, and later Mae's (Ezra's wife) longing to turn her ill great-granddaughter, Daisy who is only 5 years old.  Peter and Jack are trying to get along (but let's face it, when you're in love with the same woman- it can be a little difficult).  When Jane is kidnapped by the lycan, Alice will have to make a decision that could mean life or death.  What will Alice do?  Well if you want to know, go read the book.           
   This story introduces some pretty important characters.  There is a love triangle between Jack, Alice, and Peter.  The lycans become involved in Alice's life along with Jane as the pawn.  I can't help but feel sorry for Peter and at the same time root Alice and Jack on cause they have a true love that can last for an eternity.  I love this book also.  The romance was extremely hot and with all the tension built up and the fight scenes toward the end,  I was left longing for more of this series.  I just can't get enough.  Read this series and I guarantee you'll love it as much as I do:)
 
5 STARS
 
 
 

Fate - Amanda Hocking

   Alice is caught between her feelings for Jack and Peter.  For Jack it feels natural, but for Peter, its nothing but a purely physical pull towards him and she can't resist what he does to her.  Peter has taken off, which is for the best if he is going to try and kill her.  Alice starts falling in love with Jack and they both try to fight it cause if they give in, Peter can possibly  kill them if he smells Jack on Alice or in her blood.  To make matters worse, Milo - Alice's brother, has an accident and the only way to save him is to turn him into a vampire.
   After Jack turns Milo into a vampire, Ezra later tells Alice that she'll have to wait about 3 years before they can turn her since Jack has his hands full with Milo.  Alice decided to wait because she didn't want to leave Milo behind but now that he's a vampire she feels like she is the one getting left out.  Eventually Milo is able to control his thirst and he takes Jane and Alice to a club where things don't go as planned.  The vampires are still drawn to Alice for some reason and she must try to get out of the club alive with the help of her brother and  best friend, Jane.  Will they make it out without anyone getting hurt?  And will Jack come to the rescue?  You're gonna have to read this and see what happens.
   We're introduced to more characters in "Fate".  There are new vampires trying to harm Alice and everyone is trying to keep her safe.  When I read the very last sentence of the story (I'm not gonna tell you what it is- That would be spoiling the plot) I was immediately starting the third book "Flutter" .  I am addicted to this series.  I NEED it and have to know what happens next.  Read this series.  It is AMAZING!!

5 STARS


My Blood Approves - Amanda Hocking

   After leaving a club in the middle of the night, Alice Bonham and her best friend Jane start walking home.  So Alice starts hearing footsteps behind them and so they hurry realizing that the footsteps hurry also.  They take refuge in a deserted parking garage and the men follow in after towards Alice.  She freezes not knowing where Jane has hidden and is about to accept her fate of an early death.  All of a sudden a black Jetta screeches in and the guy inside (wearing pink no doubt) saves her.  He introduces himself as Jack.
   Jack texts Alice and they start hanging out.  They go to a concert (where he lifts her onto his shoulders for the entire event) and everyone seems to look at Jack like he's the only male on the planet.  Alice can't figure out what's different about him and starts considering different theories as to what he's hiding from her.  Alice starts having feelings for him. (Ahem...gorgeous, rich, heroic - who wouldn't right?)
   Jack and his family are vampires and when Alice meets Jack's brother, Peter, she can't resist the urge for them to be together, but the problem is that he wants nothing to do with her.  Now Alice has to sort her true feelings out and decide who and what she wants in life.  But the consequences could be deadly if she chooses wrong.
   Just after reading the opening chapters of "My Blood Approves", I knew I was hooked and would be a huge fan of Amanda Hocking.  I loved this book from the beginning all the way to the end.  I couldn't help but cheer when Jack came in the parking garage to save the day.  Every girl wants their own "Knight in Shining Armor" (But let's face it girls- Who really ever gets one?)
   I started reading it thinking that it was very similar to "Twilight" and then it just started developing into a story all of its own.  Any fans of vampire romance should read this series.  As soon as I finished this book, I went right on to the sequel.  I am HOOKED!!

5 Stars                                                            


Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Heavenly - Jennifer Laurens


Zoey hasn't had the perfect life. Her brother Luke smokes pot. She parties by drinking ALOT and getting "extra" attention from the boys. Her parents don't pay enough attention to her cause they are constantly worrying over Abria, Zoey's sister who has autism. Well soon her life changes when she meets Matthias, her sister's guardian angel. Not everyone can see Matthias and he's only around when Abria needs him. Zoey and Matthias start hanging together with Abria and she can't seem to get enough of him and soon falls in love with him. Zoey has to cloud her thoughts so Matthias can't read that she's thinking about holding, touching, and kissing him. She even starts singing Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious over and over in her mind to keep him from her thoughts. What will he do if he finds out? Will he love her back or will he tell her that he isn't able to love?

I've never read a book by Jennifer Laurens. This is my first. It was a quick read that was well written and had everything I was looking for. I have a child with ADHD, and so I was really able to relate with the characters and the reality of it all. "Heavenly" touched me in ways no other book has before. I laughed and cried while reading it. Read this and you won't regret it!! 5 STARS

Crescendo - Becca Fitzpatrick

Nora Grey is gonna learn the truth about herself in this book. She is going out with her guardian angel, Patch. Patch drops Nora off and while she is stalling to go, they make out and she tells him that she loves him. He suddenly acts like he has to go. After that, Nora can't help but regret saying it knowing they can't be together because if they are caught, Patch will be sent to Hell. Nothing left to do but break it off with Patch, even though it kills her to do so. So Nora gets to summer school and has Marcie Miller as her new lab partner. Marcie has done nothing but torment Nora so when she hears Patch and Marcie are together, Nora starts hanging with Scott who is a friend from her childhood that used to pick on her, who just moved back town. Vee is dating Patch's friend Rixon, a fallen angel, so Nora starts hanging out with Scott more and more then starts to realize there's something not quite right about him. Is he really who he says he is or is he something more? While at a local shopping center with Vee, Nora thinks she sees her dead father then has nightmares of murders that happened in the past, along with her father's murder, and starts digging around for the truth. Is her father really dead? Well, that is what Nora is going to find out.

After I read "Hush, Hush" , I couldn't wait to get my hands on the sequel. I loved this book and the cliffhanger at the end will leave readers begging for more. I know that I sure am. We get to discover about Nora and a lot of characters that have secrets. Its kept me guessing the entire way. I was heartbroken when Nora broke up with Patch, but it was for his own safety and I respect Nora for her decision. The thing about this book though is that Patch and Nora really aren't away from each other very much because they keep "running" into each other at parties, pool halls, and plenty of other unexpected places. There is plenty of romance (my favorite part), action, and mystery so if you get a chance to read this book...Read it!! 4 1/2 - 5 STARS

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Torment (Fallen #2) - Lauren Kate

Daniel is a fallen angel. Luce is the love of his life. She normally in all her previous lives would spontaneously combust, but this time she hasn't and Daniel has to send her to Shoreline - a school that has a protective shield and many Nephilim. Luce has teachers who are angels and demons, and they will be able to help protect her from the beings that want to hurt her. She starts making friends and learning a bunch of helpful information about the Announcers, the shadows, and stars wondering if she is really meant to be with Daniel after all or if all this torment needs to end once and for all.

Lauren Kate did not disappoint me in the romance department while I was reading this book. Luce just can't deny the chemistry and history between her and Daniel. The romantic places that he takes her away to make me melt as they hold and kiss each other. He'll do anything to protect her and what more could a girl ask for. When I read the back of the book, I got a little scared that Daniel wouldn't be in the story very much since he takes Luce to Shoreline, but he makes plenty of visits and doesn't leave me disappointed. It's pretty interesting to learn what Luce can do with the shadows and how her new friends keep helping her so she doesn't have to do it alone. I'm glad that the new characters are introduced and some of the older ones from Sword & Cross appear in the story as well. Overall, it was a delightful read and I can't wait for book 3 in the Fallen series.
4 1/2 - 5 STARS

Low Red Moon - Ivy Devlin


Avery Hood can't remember what happened the night that her parents were murdered. All she can remember is silver and being covered in blood from trying to piece them back together. The new boy in school, Ben, befriends Avery and they start falling for each other very quickly. Avery sees silver in Ben's eyes and starts trying to figure out what happened on that tragic night and if Ben, who can't remember what happened the night her parents were killed, was the one who did it. She learns that he does have a secret about him, that he's a werewolf, but she already has this amazing connection with him and she doesn't want to lose it. When the truth is finally revealed, will it be too late?

Thank you Ivy Devlin for writing such an amazing book!!! The connection between the characters was so romantic, I fell for Ben myself while reading this story. I adored the way they risked so much to be together, and how they were able to connect through their feelings and thoughts. Let's not forget the mysterious murders in the story and the suspects I kept adding to my list. I never would have predicted the outcome of the story. I was able to devour this book very quickly and enjoyed every bit of it. I just wished that it didn't end so soon. I totally recommend this book to paranormal romance lovers. If there is gonna be a sequel, I hope to find it soon cause its gonna be good!! 4 1/2 - 5 STARS

Forgive My Fins - Tera Lynn Childs

Lily is half human and half mermaid. She lives with her aunt on land and goes to school with Brody. She's had a crush on Brody since she first saw him in the ocean. He just looked like he belonged there. Lily also has a pesky neighbor, Quince, that annoys her all the time. She finally gets up the nerve to ask Brody to the Spring Fling and he says "no". She goes to sulk in the bathroom when Quince comes in and consoles her. Later Quince comes up with a plan to try and get Brody and Lily alone, only it's not Brody whe ends up alone with...it's Quince. She thinks she's alone with Brody so they kiss and she realizes its Quince she is actually kissing. Lily kissing Quince has bonded them and Quince is gonna turn to a merman. Now Lily has to take Quince to meet the King and get the bonding removed so she can be with the one she truly loves.
This is such a cute love story! It was a quick read that kept me entertained the entire time. I actually had fun reading this story. There were so many twists and turns, I couldn't predict what was gonna happen next - though I did try. The sea terminology that Tera used when writing this story had me laughing at random moments and my family thought I was going insane. She created a funny, adventurous romance with "Forgive My Fins" and I would love to read the seaquel (LOL... get it SEAquel) HAHA...see I can come up with my own terminology too:) Just read this cause its really good. 4 STARS

Sleepless - Cyn Balog

Eron is a sandman. He puts his charges to sleep through seduction but never touches them or communicates with them. His job is to protect his charges. His 100 years as a sandman are almost up and he can return to being human in just a few weeks. Julia is one of his charges. Her boyfriend Griffin recently passed away and is gonna be Eron's replacement. Griffin is having a hard time letting go of Julia and starts leaving signs showing that he may be dead, but he is still watching her and that she still belongs to him. After years of putting Julia to sleep and watching out for her, Eron starts falling for her and even though it's not allowed, while he is transitioning to become human, he risks everything to be with her and not forget about her.
My thoughts on this book: I loved it! I love the characters and the plot. "Sleepless" kept me reading into the night while everyone else was sleeping. The way it was written made me feel that I was actually a real character in the story. I could relate with the characters and their feelings and so while I was reading, I was constantly rooting for Eron and Julia. When I was finished, I kept opening my eyes in hopes that maybe my own sandman would come. I can't wait to see what Cyn Balog has up her sleeve next. I recommend this story for those that love paranormal romance but are tired of the usual vampires and werewolves. 4 1/2 STARS

Swoon - Nina Malkin


Pen falls from a tree and almost dies. During her fall, a man from 1769 named Sinclair Youngblood Powers, aka Sin, steps in and takes possession of her body. He wants revenge on the ones responsible for his beloveds, Hannah, death and their unborn child. Candice ,aka Dice, tells Pen she's possessed and they set to exorcise Sin out of Pen but only end up turning him to a real person. Now Dice is falling for Sin even though he is going around and causing chaos all over Swoon to make everyone pay for something their ancestors did. So Dice has to try and get Sin to work with her so they can investigate what really happened and who was responsible for Hannah's death.
Overall, I didn't enjoy this story as well as I thought I would. The way it was written left me confused most of the time. Nina Malkin kept using big words in the story. It was almost as if she had a thesaurus right by her computer looking up synonyms as she wrote "Swoon". I liked Sin and Dice, and their push and pull relationship. Dice kept pushing Sin away after she would learn of one of his incidents causing havoc on the town, but yet she was still in love with Sin and wanted to try to help him the best way she could. This story had drugs, strong sexual content, and burglary so just be advised when you read it what you are getting yourself into. 2 - 2 1/2 stars

Monster High - Lisi Harrison


The story takes place in Salem; not Mass but Oregon. Melody Carver is a normie and Frankie Stein is a monster, well not really, but that is what the normies would call her if they knew her true identity. Frankie dreams of the day that she can walk in public as herself and not have to disguise her neck seams, bolts, and her green skin with scarves and loads of makeup. Melody meets her new neighbor, Jackson, who has a secret of his own. When Melody learns of his secret and of the "monsters" at Merston High, she'll have to decide who her real friends are and what she's going to do with this newfound knowledge.
The way this story is written is really confusing at first. Lisi goes back and forth between Melody's and Frankie's viewpoints that I was forgetting who was friends with who. I did enjoy the idea of real movie-like monsters hiding out in the real world to keep their true identities safe. Frankie just wants to be able to exist as herself and not be ridiculed for who and what she really is and I can't blame her. To have to hide yourself away from the rest of the world because of the chaos that would become if her truth was revealed would be a real shame knowing what a great person she is inside. Melody, on the other hand, doesn't feel beautiful even after her plastic surgeon father redid her nose. She wants people to like her for who she is and not what she looks like on the outside. So when their worlds collide, they'll have to decide if they want to work together or stay away and keep each other's secrets. This is just a book I would recommend if you're bored and can't find anything else to do. It had me yawning at times and the confusion of the characters didn't help. Even trying to write my thoughts on this book was confusing LOL...3- 3 1/2 stars at the most from me.

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Matched - Ally Condie


I would really give this book 3 1/2 stars. I liked the characters Cassia, Xander, and Ky and the whole forbidden romance sort of plot but I got confused and a bit bored reading this. I still don't know if the character are more human or robot so I really wish the author would have confirmed that for me so I am not left wondering. The idea of the Society matching you up around the age of 17 and not giving them free will to choose their own future and mate was interesting but the way it was written was a little boring for me. I will be honest and say that around page 80 I started skimming through the book and reading just the quotes of the characters so that I knew what was going on. I was still able to keep up with the story doing this and became invested in Cassia's conflict with her 2 "matches" and how she was falling in love with Ky when she knew that she was supposed to be with Xander, her true match and lifelong friend. The Society are people that take away your ability to do what normal humans would do. They have to eat when they are told and what they are told, and they have to work, sleep, be inside at a certain curfew every night. To make matters worse, the elders all die at the age of 80, they don't know how to write and if they are caught, they would get an infraction against them. This book would be an example of what would happen if we didn't have our own free will to do and be with who we want and that is not a world I would want to live in.

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Sisters Red - Jackson Pearce


Scarlette and Rosie March hunt werewolves called Fenris. It all started when a salesman came to the door selling citrus. Oma March, their grandmother, knew automatically the salesman was a wolf by the arrow tattoo on his wrist. She tells Scarlette and Rosie, just tiny kids at the time, to run and hide. Scarlette can her her grandmother's last moments before she dies and realizes its up to her now to save herself and her younger sister. Seven years later, Scarlette and Rosie are still hunting the Fenris in their home of Ellison, GA. Now Rosie feels she owes her sister her own life for protecting her and saving her years ago. Scarlette was severely scarred that night saving her sister's life and also lost an eye from the beast that wanted to devour them. Rosie, Scarlette, and Silas- their hunting partner now back after being gone a year- hunt the Fenris in the park in the town of Ellison. More Fenris are showing up in town and they need to figure out why. So they travel to Atlanta. There is only one problem- Rosis is falling for Silas. She is seeing this boy that she's known her whole life in a whole new light, and she's afraid that Scartlette won't understand her new found feelings.
This is a great story with a lot of creativity put into it. Sisters Red is a modernized version of Little Red Riding Hood with a twist. The sisters even wear the red cloaks to attract the attention of the Fenris, which I think is really cool. I love the way Jackson Pearce took a well known fairy tale and turned it into something even better. I wasn't expecting the ending, so I did cry a little, so you might want to have a tissue ready just in case. Overall, I love the twist to the story and would recommend this book for sure.

Halo - Alexandra Adornetto


Three angels are sent down to earth on a mission to do good in the town of Venus Cove. Gabriel is the warrior, Ivy is the healer, and Bethany is the most human of the three. Bethany starts making friends and soon learns of the dark forces that have been at work causing accidents and deaths all over town before they arrived. Bethany most of all starts being attracted to a human boy, Xavier. She loves spending time with him and soon starts falling for him. Gabriel and Ivy, her brother and sister, soon worry about Bethany and how far she is taking her human emotions. They worry she won't be able to concentrate on her mission if she is involved with Xavier. Bethany can't stand lying to Xavier so she decides to be honest with him and reveal herself to him and show him her true identity.
This is the best book I have read in a long time. I love the actual "goodness" of the characters and what they can do to help the town of Venus Cove. A lot of people who read this book could really learn ways to help in their own community by following examples of the angels. I craved the growing love of Xavier and Bethany and their struggles to stay together, the intensity and trust of their relationship proved that romance could work between a mortal boy and an angel, even if there are dark forces trying to tear them apart. I can't wait for the second book of the trilogy to come out. THIS BOOK ROCKS!!! I recommend this book to everyone who loves romance with a little action and drama added in the mix. If you have a chance to read this, take it and you won't be disappointed.

Glimmerglass - Jenna Black


Dana Hathaway is fed up being embarrassed and covering up for her alcoholic mother when she comes to her recital drunk. Dana has never met her father and has been in her mother's care since she was born. She realizes that it is time to take her life into her own hands cause she has been taking care of herself since around the age of 5, so she contacts her father and flies to Avalon hoping for a more normal life. The thing about Dana is that she is part human and part faerie, and Avalon is the crossroads between the human world and Faerie.
When she arrives in London, her father's friend is not there to pick her up to take her to Avalon. She waits and waits then decides to get a cab to take her there. Once in Avalon, she is going through a checkpoint through customs and is called over to another area by a woman who ends up being her aunt. Well Aunt Grace takes Dana to her house and tells her that her father, Seamus Stewart, is actually in jail right now so that is why he didn't meet her there. When Aunt Grace leaves Dana locked in the bedroom, Dana realizes she is a prisoner and it may not have been such a good idea to leave home after all. Then Dana is moved from the bedroom to a cell. While asleep in the cell, she is rescued by Ethan and Kimber. Dana was instantly attracted to Ethan and his tall, slender frame with long blond hair, but that doesn't mean she can trust him. They later take her to perform a test. She looks out over the distance of the mountain and feels dizziness and nausea. What she is seeing is called the Glimmerglass- the window that looks out into the mortal world and Faerie at the same time. Dana realizes she is a Faeriewalker who can travel from Avalon into Faerie or into the mortal world and she is the only one.
The first half of the book was 5 stars. The moment Ethan enters the story, I didn't want to put it down. The romance, action, and magic kept me interested. The 2nd half of the story wasn't as great in my opinion. Here, I was reading up on this great building romance and then the author just takes a turn, for the worse, I might add, and has them fighting the main rest of the book. I honestly can't wait to read book 2 in the series to see what happens, because overall the story was inventive, romantic and the family issues involved will help teenagers in the same situation relate to Dana. The main moral of the this story I believe to be: The grass isn't always greener on the other side.

Friday, June 11, 2010

Bleeding Violet - Dia Reeves


Hanna Jarvinen runs away from her home in Dallas, TX where she stayed with her aunt after her father passes away. Her aunt wants to have her put in the nuthouse so she listens to her dead father and heads to Portero on the guidance of her father on how to get there. Her mother Rosalie, doesn't want her to stay but she finally makes her a deal and says if she can make friends and fit in within 2 weeks, she can stay. Hanna thinks no problem until she realizes that this town is weirder than her aunt thought she was.
This book contains a lot of a sci-fi feel to me. There are some explicit sex scenes and hard violence and gore that I wouldn't recommend to younger teenagers. With things like lure- which call you to the window and suck out all your juices and organs and leave this glass shell statue behind, and flying leeches, swans that literally come to life and peck your flesh from your face and other stuff like magic color cards and hidden doors that take you around town, you'll see why I think that this book is a little out there in my opinion and a bit unbelievable.
I came into this story expecting this great paranormal romance but was left with this feeling that I just read something that was far-fetched and a little disappointing. I think if I were to read it again, not that I want to, I might be able to enjoy it more now that I understand everything going on in the plot, but I really don't recommend this title. I only continued reading cause I wanted to know how it ended.

Saturday, May 29, 2010

I Kissed A Zombie and I Liked It - Adam Selzer


Ally Rhodes and her friends- Marie, Sadie, and Trinity- are known as the "Vicious Circle" at her school, Cornersville Trace High. They run the paper there which is actually not a paper, but a blog. Ally is personally known as the Ice Queen of the Vicious Circle cause she is always mean and has bad comments to say about everyone. So Ally and her friends are invited to the Cage to review a local band called the Sorry Marios. The Sorry Marios aren't very good but with their new member on drums, Will, a vampire, she goes to do the review. Ally is not impressed with the band until a new singer appears on stage and sings two songs. As soon as she hears the songs that he is singing, which happened to be her favorites from the 30's artists, she automatically starts crushing on this mysterious newcomer, Doug. They start going out and she overcomes his terrible smell, the only outfit he owns, and his mysterious liquid that he must drink every four hours. She assumes he has a disease and feels bad for him and just wants to kiss him over and over and take all his pain away. She soon starts falling for Doug and is not the Ice Queen she once was, but a sympathetic and caring human being. Doug on the other hand isn't human after all. He is what humans call post human, and when Ally finds out, it blows her mind until she starts piecing together all the clues. So Will tries to convince her to convert to a vampire to be with him and Doug wants her to convert to a Zombie to be with him. So now Ally has to decide if she wants to change or remain human.
This was a fast read for me. I couldn't quite relate to any of the characters though. It all just seemed a bit to far fetched for my taste. However, I did enjoy the book and the idea of a girl having to make tough decisions based on her love life. The ending was unexpected and a big letdown for me, but I might try another of Adam Selzer's books if I happen to come across one- But I won't go searching anytime soon.

Jekel Loves Hyde - Beth Fantaskey


Jill Jekel's life changes after her father is mysteriously murdered in a parking lot near his work. They have a funeral in January a day after her 17th birthday and her dad's friends and coworkers show up to support Jill and her mother. Jill is feeling completely alone until she sees Tristen. She wasn't even friends with Tristen Hyde so she wasn't sure why he showed up at her dad's funeral for when no one else showed up for her. He comforts her and holds her and tells her that it's going to be okay. Jill comes to learn that her father wasn't the man she thought he was. He stole her college fund before he died, so when the opportunity for a scholarship in chemistry arises, Jill decides to go for it. Jill enlists in the help of Tristen. Jill and Tristen decide to partner together and help each other. Tristen confides in Jill and tells her of the "Beast" inside of him that is getting stronger and wants to take over and start killing. So they enter her dad's office and break open a "forbidden box" that contains papers with documents and formulas to try to cure Tristen. So Jekel and Hyde start experimenting and he decides to take the vial and drink it after they are done. Will the vial cure the "Beast" in Tristen Hyde or kill him and leave Jill alone yet again?
I was hooked from the first page. The mystery involved in this story along with the growing romance between Jill and Tristen is what peeked my interest in the book. Tristen's afraid that the "Beast" is gonna overcome him so he tries not to act on his feelings for Jill, while whe can't imagine someone like Tristen ever falling for her when he can have any girl that he desires. Beth Fantaskey has delivered another story that has captivated me and I can't wait to see what kind of story she develops next.

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Love Bites (Vampire Kisses, #7) - Ellen Schreiber


Imagine sitting with your hot vampire boyfriend making out in his Mansion, when all of a sudden there are three loud knocks on the door. Well, that is exactly what happened to Raven- the local goth girl, while in Alexander's Mansion. It's Sebastian, Alexander's best friend from Romania, and he has come for a visit. Well Raven thought what a great way to get more insight on her boyfriend's past than to talk to his best friend and learn everything that she can. Well, Sebastian ends up falling for Becky, which is Raven's mortal BFF who also has a boyfriend. So when it goes as far as Sebastian tasting Becky's blood after she falls and skins her knee, Raven and Alexander are now set out to find a soul mate for him to get him away from Becky. Will Becky be able to resist Sebastian and will Sebastian be able to move on with a girl of his own kind?
I absolutely love this series!! Raven and Alexander have the best relationship. She wants to be a vampire like him so they can be together for eternity and he tries no to give in to the temptation to go ahead and change her. This series makes me want to go out and look for my own vampire boyfriend, but then I remember that I am married. The characters really draw you in and I can't wait to see what happens next in Dullsville!!

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Spirit Bound (Vampire Academy 5) - Richelle Mead


5 STARS!! First of all, I will try to not spoil any of the story so it might sound a bit cryptic reading this, but here it goes. Rose is on a mission with her friends to set Victor free and learn how to change Dimitri from a Strigoi back to a damphir. She is warned by Dimitri that as soon as she leaves the wards of the Academy that he will find her, but she continues her mission anyway to set Victor free and learn the way to "save" a strigoi. Once Rose's trials are finished, she and her friends head off and try to get Victor out of Jail. Once that is completed, they head to Las Vegas to meet up with Victor's brother, Robert. Robert tells them of how he saved a strigoi and then later they are all attacked by strigoi in the hotel. The leader of the strigoi attacking them just happens to be Dimitri. He kept his promise and finds Rose, who is not ready for anyone to kill Dimitri until she has a chance to try to change him back. She did not just do all that she did to have it be for nothing. But saving Dimitri comes at a cost and many lives will be lost. Will she be able to save him? If she does, will he be the same ever again?

This story had me from page one. I can only immagine what Rose would do to save Dimitri. He is the love of her life and since he was changed she has been lost. Of course trying to have a relationship with Adrian isn't the same as being with Dimitri. He was everything to her and she will go to great lengths to save him. I loved the fact that Richelle Mead didn't wait till the end of the book to bring Dimitri into the story. Not only did she not wait, but the middle is where everything in the story changes and the plot leaves readers wanting more all the way to the end. Rose not only has Dimitri and Adrian to deal with, but also new laws beings passed and royals that seem to want to threaten her and her future. She may have graduated the Academy, but here at the Court, she still doesn't know her assignment and what lies ahead for her future or what's going to become of her. I can't wait to read the next installment of Richelle's Vampire Academy because this series is never disappointing! I recommend this book to everyone!

Sunday, May 23, 2010

Linger - Maggie Stiefvater


In this second book of the Wolves of Mercy Falls Series, Sam and Grace finally get to be together. But for how long is the question. With Winter chills still haunting Sam of his previous life as a wolf, he remembers what it was like and what he has gained from becoming human. He takes on the responsibility of Beck's pack, including 2 new wolves, and tries to help them with their new shifting abilities. Sam and Grace are able to spend night after night together sleeping in each other's arms all the while that Grace feels something welling inside of her. She comes down with fevers, headaches, and nose bleeds and she can only fear of the thing that is inside her is the wolf that has never gotten the chance to come out after all these years. Grace has to lie to Sam about what she really feels is wrong with her. Will Sam and the others figure it out in time to save Grace and did Sam become a human only to find out that he is gonna lose the love of his life?
The story contains the point of view of Sam and Grace, as well as Isabel and Cole, who is one of the new wolves. I didn't as much care to hear their POV as much as Sam and Grace. They are the main characters of the story and thought that having all 4 of the POV's was a bit much. I really enjoyed the story introducing the new characters, just got a little confused trying to keep in thought whose POV I was reading from. I would be reading Cole's and the entire time be thinking it was actually Sam's and then come to something that didn't make sense to me and then finally remember whose POV I was actually reading. 2 is ok, but 4 is a bit much in my opinion.
After all is said and done, I really did enjoy the story. I absolutely loved Shiver so I knew that I would not be disappointed with Linger. I loved Sam and Grace being able to spend their time together and the introduction of Cole who becomes a major character in the story along with his budding romance with Isabel. I can't wait for the next installment of the series to see what happens.